- 5. Douglas J, Martin S. *CMAJ* no longer just a Canadian journal, *eCMAJ* survey indicates. *CMAJ* 2001;164(4):534-5.
- Varmus H. E-biomed: a proposal for electronic publications in the biomedical sciences. Available: www.nih.gov/welcome/director/ebiomed/ebi.htm (accessed 11 Feb 2002).
- 7. Hoey J. E-biomed: scientific publishing's brave new world. *CMAJ* 1999;161(1):41-2.
- 8. McEntyre J, Lipman D. PubMed: bridging the information

- gap. CMAJ 2001;164(9):1317-9.
- 9. PubMed Central: signing on [editorial]. CMAJ 2000;162(4):481.
- The Public Library of Science Web site. Open letter. What's next? Available: www.publiclibraryofscience.org/plosLetter .shtml (accessed 8 Apr 2002).
- Young SN, Joffe RT. The cost of accessing research results and the Public Library of Science [editorial]. *J Psychiatry Neurosci* 2001;26:373.

Canadian College of Neuropsychopharmacology Collège canadien de neuropsychopharmacologie

2001 Award Winners

Heinz Lehmann Award

Dr. Franco Vaccarino is the recipient of the 2001 Canadian College of Neuropsychopharmacology (CCNP) Heinz Lehmann Award. Dr. Vaccarino is currently a professor in the Departments of Psychiatry and Psychology at the University of Toronto and vice president of research at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health. This award is designed to recognize outstanding research achievements by Canadian scientists in the field of neuropsychopharmacology. The award, donated by Hoffmann-La Roche Limited, consists of \$5000 and an engraved plaque. Congratulations to Dr. Vaccarino!

Presentation: CCK modulation of mesolimbic DA function: a model for the opposing effects of stress on motivated behaviour

Jock Cleghorn Award

Mr. Steven Szabo is the recipient of the 2001 CCNP Jock Cleghorn Prize. Mr. Szabo is doing research training in the Department of Psychiatry, University of Florida in Gainsville, Fla. This award is designed to recognize the best poster presentation by a research trainee at the CCNP Annual Meeting. The award, donated by the CCNP, consists of \$500. Congratulations to Mr. Szabo!

Presentation: Serotonin receptor effects on norephinephrine neuron firing are mediated through excitatory amino acid and GABA-A receptors

Innovations in Neuropsychopharmacology Award

Dr. Harold A. Robertson is the recipient of the 2001 CCNP Innovations in Neuropsychopharmacology Award. Dr. Robertson is currently professor and head of the Department of Pharmacology, Faculty of Medicine, Dalhousie University in Halifax. This award is designed to recognize outstanding research innovations in the basic or clinical fields of neuropsychopharmacology. The award, donated by Pfizer Canada Inc., consists of \$5000 and an engraved plaque. Congratulations to Dr. Robertson!

Presentation: The genome and the brain: towards a neurobiology of psychiatric disorders

Young Investigator Award

Dr. Ridha Joober is the recipient of the 2001 CCNP Young Investigator Award. Dr. Joober is currently an assistant professor in the Department of Psychiatry and associate member in the Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery at McGill University. The award, donated by Bristol-Myers Squibb Company, consists of a \$2500 bursary plus a \$2000 research grant and an engraved plaque. Congratulations to Dr. Joober!

Presentation: Genetics of schizophrenia: combining animal models and clinical studies