CCNP News and Views

In memoriam: Claude de Montigny, 1945–2012 MD, CM, PhD (Université de Montréal)

It is with great sadness that we marked the passing of Dr. Claude de Montigny on Oct. 19, 2012. Dr. de Montigny's research on antidepressants and other psychoactive drugs has had an enormous influence on psychopharmacology research and understanding in Canada and worldwide and has had a major impact on how depression is treated.

Dr. de Montigny was the first psychiatrist in Canada to be awarded a Medical Research Council (MRC; now Canadian Institutes of Health Research) Centennial Fellowship and an MRC Scientific Award. He was also the first Canadian to earn the National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression

(NARSAD) Award. Dr. de Montigny received the Canadian College of Neuropsychopharmacology (CCNP) Heinz Lehman Award in 1988, our highest recognition of excellence, and remained an active member of the CCNP until 2006.

Dr. de Montigny joined the McGill Department of Psychiatry in 1977 and rose through the ranks to become Professor Emeritus in 2008. In his illustrious career, Claude de Montigny published more than 200 scientific articles and ranked among the top 0.5% of the world's most cited scientists.

He will be remembered fondly by the many scientists and trainees whom he mentored.

Canadian College of Neuropsychopharmacology 2013 award winners

Heinz Lehmann Award

Drs. Susan George and Benjamin Rusak are each recipients of the 2013 Canadian College of Neuropsychopharmacology (CCNP) Heinz Lehmann Award. Dr. George is a Professor in the Faculty of Medicine in the Departments of Medicine and Pharmacology at the University of Toronto in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Dr. Rusak is a Professor of Psychiatry, Psychology and Pharmacology at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada. This award is designed to recognize outstanding research achievements by Canadian scientists in the field of neuropsychopharmacology. The award consists of a \$1000 research prize, a \$1000 travel award and an engraved plaque. Congratulations to Drs. George and Rusak!

Innovations in Neuropsychopharmacology Award

Dr. Xia Zhang is the recipient of the 2013 CCNP Innovations in Neuropsychopharmacology Award. Dr. Zhang is the Director of the Translational Neurosciences Unit at the University of Ottawa Institute of Mental Health Research at The Royal Ottawa Hospital in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. This award, sponsored by Pfizer Canada, is designed to recognize outstanding and innovative research in the basic or clinical fields of neuropsychopharmacology. This award consists of a \$5000 prize and an engraved plaque. Congratulations to Dr. Zhang!

Young Investigator Award

Dr. Linda Booij is the recipient of the 2013 CCNP Young Investigator Award. Dr. Booij is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Montreal, an Adjunct Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at McGill University in Montréal, Quebec, and an Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychology at Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario, Canada. The award consists of a \$2000 honorarium, a \$1000 travel award and an engraved plaque. Congratulations to Dr. Booij!

CCNP Medal

Dr. L. Trevor Young is the recipient of the 2013 CCNP Medal. Dr. Young is a Professor and Chair of Psychiatry at the University of Toronto in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. This award, sponsored by the CCNP, was established to honour individuals for a meritorious career in and outstanding contribution to, neuropsychopharmacology in Canada, as evidenced by their activities in education, administration and/or patient care. The award consists of a bronze medal engraved with the name of the recipient. Congratulations to Dr. Young!